The 17th ASEAN Summit to be held this week

Updated On: Oct 25, 2010

The ten members of Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) will host the United States and Russia in the East Asian Summit, along with the six existing partners — China, Japan, South Korea, India, Australia and New Zealand at the the 17th Asean Summit and Related Summits this week from Oct 28-30.

The 10 ASEAN leaders will convene in Hanoi, Vietnam, from Thursday to Saturday to discuss the so-called Master Plan on ASEAN Connectivity, which would anchor the region’s long-term strategy to build ASEAN community and become a hub of the East Asia region.

The master plan called for efforts to improve the region’s connectivity in three areas — physical connectivity such as transport and ICT infrastructure, institutional connectivity such as trade and investment liberalization, and people-to-people connectivity such as tourism and education, the ASEAN Secretariat said in Jakarta on Saturday.

The East Asia Summit (EAS) will also be held as part of the general ASEAN meetings. The main agendas are to decide on the entry of US and Russia into the EAS and to discuss the region's political and security engagements with China, Japan, and South Korea.


ASEAN gears up to challenge Asia’s giants [The Jakarta Post, 25 Oct 2010]

Asean to tackle US, Russia as EAS participants
 [Channel NewsAsia, 24 Oct 2010]

Rising China causes apprehension at Asia summit [GMANews.TV, 24 Oct 2010]

Ha Noi to host ASEAN summit [AsiaOne News, 22 Oct 2010]

Related Article