Indonesia now open to US, Russia joining East Asia Summit

Updated On: Mar 25, 2010

Indonesia now endorses the idea of expanding the East Asia Summit (EAS) to include the United States and Russia. Previously, Indonesian officials had said admitting new members would shift the focus of the 16 member regional grouping which includes the 10 ASEAN countries, China, Japan, Korea, Australia, New Zealand and India and risk turning it into "a mini United Nations."

Indonesian Foreign Minister Marty Natalegawa announced the policy shift on the sidelines of a press conference last week. He is pictured above alongside United States Secretary of State Hillary Clinton in a photo taken in 2009.

Related Article